Register  |  FAQ  |  Search  |  Memberlist  |  Usergroups  |  Log in 
Reply to topic
 Memory access violation! 
Robg01


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hello,

I recently downloaded the trial version of DOFPro and loaded it in trial versions of both Photoshop CS2 & CS3.

I followed the same steps for both versions of CS and DOFPro runs fine in CS2, but gives me a repeated error message (Memory access violation!), each time I try to run it in CS3.

At this point I can only assume it must be some kind of setting in CS3, but I do not know what setting I may need to change. I have set the scratch disk for a nearly empty 250 gig drive. My system is a PC running Win XP-Pro, Pentium D 3.00 GHz, with 2 Gig RAM.

I am primarily interested in the CS3 version of Photoshop so I would like to get this working before my trial runs out (24 days left).

Thanks in advance.

RG
View user's profile Send private message
  
richardrosenman
Site Admin

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 145
Location: Canada
Reply with quote
Hi Robg01;

It will definitely work under the system specs you have so it must be a minor setting.

Please make sure you are attempting to run it on a 24 bit RGB image and on such a layer.

Also make sure convert.exe is in the same location as dofpro.8bf

Finally, make sure you are running a 32 bit OS, not 64.

Let me know if this helps.

-Richard

_________________
Richard Rosenman
DOF PRO Developer
Digital Animation Director
http://www.dofpro.com
http://www.mblpro.com
http://www.cgsphere.com
http://www.hatchstudios.net
http://www.lumierefilter.com
http://www.richardrosenman.com
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
  
Robg01


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi Richard,

Thanks for the quick response.

You said "Please make sure you are attempting to run it on a 24 bit RGB image and on such a layer.

Also make sure convert.exe is in the same location as dofpro.8bf."


I've tried using DOFPro on the same images in both CS2 & CS3. It works fine in CS2, but I get the error message in CS3. Also, I have no idea what the "convert.exe" file is that you are referring to... it did not come with the "dofpro.8bf" download and is not in the CS2 or CS3 plug-ins folder, so I'm not sure where to look for it.

Any additional suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks again in advance.

RG
View user's profile Send private message
  
martinvicanek


Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Hi Robg01,

was it DOF PRO v1.5 that you had these problems with?

Greetings
Martin

_________________
Martin Vicanek
DOF PRO Developer
View user's profile Send private message
  
alias_marks


Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I am receiving the same error and am having the same problem explained above. I've downloaded the v3.0 demo and would love to buy if I can get things to work. I'm running xp 32 bit with 2 gig of free memory. I'm trying to use the filter on the chess piece images used in the main tutorial, so I assume they should be the correct .bmp format.

I've made sure the convert.exe file is in the same location as the dofpro.8bf

Any help here appreciated

Thanks,

Michael

edit:

I've noticed you said a screen grab of the file structure may help in another post


View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
  
richardrosenman
Site Admin

Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 145
Location: Canada
Reply with quote
Hi Michael;

If you are using Win XP PRO SP3 or Vista they both have this useless feature called DEP - which will result in DOF PRO giving you this error message. I'm not sure that's the problem but if you have XP SP3 or Vista, you should deactivate DEP and try it again.

Other things to try are to make sure you have downloaded the latest v3.0.74 version. You can try making a "DOF PRO" folder in your plugins folder and dropping the files in there.

Martin asked if you were originally attempting to use v1.5 - this is because it is no longer supported and does not have the same compatibility record as v3.0.

Let us know how it goes,
-Richard

_________________
Richard Rosenman
DOF PRO Developer
Digital Animation Director
http://www.dofpro.com
http://www.mblpro.com
http://www.cgsphere.com
http://www.hatchstudios.net
http://www.lumierefilter.com
http://www.richardrosenman.com
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 4 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic